When was the last time you made a wish?

I bet we all make wishes when we see a shooting star. Or am I wrong? Are you just saying that you are not superstitious???

Well, while working on my Luck (art) Project, I have encountered many people who first claimed not to be and then, after short consideration, produced a surprising luck-bringer or talisman from their bag or wallet. I also observed the most entertaining behaviour around sculptures, that according to legends, bring luck. So I do believe, that most of us has at least an ambivalent relationship with our superstitious thoughts. One of my friends summed it up when she said, that we actually touch the “lucky sculpture” just-in-case, meaning we do not really believe in it but… Just in case we would be unlucky if we didn’t? I find this behaviour fascinating and therefore I am working on an art project inspired by this desire to be lucky and able to make a wish and hope that it might come true.

This is my first post on this blog and the first step to create the “lucky community”. No, I am not esoteric. I am pretty down-to-Earth person but I do make wishes and touch sculptures and believe that it is a rather comforting act that doesn’t hurt anyone. I also believe that if you’d have found a little object – by chance – that is meant to bring luck, it could have made you happy. At least for a couple of minutes and that is already enough to justify my efforts on this project (LOOK for LUCK tab).

To see some of the luck-bringers I collected so far, click on the LUCKY OBJECTS tab, or if you would like to see my Luck Travel Guide, click on the LUCKY PLACES tab.

Would you like to take part in my project? Follow my blog, comment below or send me an e-mail.

What is your little act of superstition?

Leave a Reply

